LinkedIn is a powerful social networking site for professionals, on LinkedIn you can connect with professionals and make connections that will help you a lot in your career. Most of the users on LinkedIn create their profile for job search. Sometimes a connection is made by mistake in your LinkedIn account or that connection is not of your field. So today in this blog post you will learn how to block someone on LinkedIn.
In this post we will also discuss what happens when you block someone and how to unblock them if you change your mind. Note that deactivating or deleting your LinkedIn account is not a solution. So, let’s know the right way.
- 1 What happens when you block someone on LinkedIn?
- 2 How to block someone on LinkedIn using Desktop
- 3 How to Block Someone on LinkedIn Mobile Apps
- 4 How to unblock someone on LinkedIn
- 5 Conclusion
What happens when you block someone on LinkedIn?
Several things happen when you block a LinkedIn member: You can read more in detail below.
- The blocked person will not be notified that you have blocked them.
- The person you blocked on LinkedIn will no longer be able to view your LinkedIn profile and may not see your activity or your connections. until you unblock it.
- You also won’t be able to view the LinkedIn profile of the blocked person. This means that you will not be able to see their profile, activity or connections. Unless you take them out of the blacklist.
- The person you blocked will not be able to send you messages or inmails. If they try to send you a message, they will receive an error message indicating that they haven’t been able to contact you.
- If you have a connection with the person you blocked, the connection will be removed. The blocked person will no longer be on your connections list, and they won’t be able to request to reconnect with you.
It’s important to note that blocking someone on LinkedIn is a serious step, and you should only do it if you have a good reason for doing so. Once you block someone, it may be difficult to unblock that connection.
How to block someone on LinkedIn using Desktop
Blocking someone on LinkedIn using desktop is a simple & easy process, and here are the steps to follow:
Step 1: Open LinkedIn on your favorite browser using the link given below. And login to your account, if you have not logged in.
Step 2: Go to the LinkedIn profile of the person you want to block.
In the search bar at the top of the LinkedIn homepage, search for the profile name of the person you want to block. Before blocking the profile, check it carefully that this is the profile you want to block.
Step 3: Go to “View full profile.”
You have to click on “View Full Profile.”
Step 4: Click on the More button on their profile.
Once you are on the profile page of the person you want to block, you can now click on the More button. It’s located below the person’s profile picture and clicking it will open a dropdown menu.
Step 5: Select the Report/Block option.
Now in the dropdown menu that appears when you click on the More button, select the Report/Block option. On clicking a new page will open where you can choose to report or block the person.
Step 6: Choose to block the person.
Now the Block [User’s name] option will appear in front of you, you have to click on the Block [User’s name].
Step 7: Confirm the block.
After selecting the Block option, you will see a pop-up asking you to confirm that you want to block the person. Click on the Block button to confirm your decision. Once you block, that person will not be able to view your LinkedIn profile or send you any messages or connection requests.
That’s it. You have successfully blocked the user on LinkedIn. What if you are on mobile user? Well, there is nothing to worry, in the below we have given complete information about how to block a user in mobile.
Also Read: How to remove open to work on linkedin
How to Block Someone on LinkedIn Mobile Apps
Blocking someone on the LinkedIn mobile app is also an easy and simple process, and here are the steps to follow:
Step 1: Open the LinkedIn app in your Mobile Device.
First of all, you have to open the LinkedIn application on your device. If you do not have the LinkedIn app, you can download the LinkedIn application from Play store or App Store.
Step 2: Go to the LinkedIn profile of the someone you want to block.
Go to the profile of the person you want to block. Click on their profile by searching their name in the search bar at the top of the Apps.
Step 3: Tap on the ‘View full profile’ button.
Click on ‘View Full Profile’. Clicking on ‘View Full Profile’ will show his complete Profile.
Step 4: Under Profile, Click on the three Dots.
After clicking on the three dots on the profile, a drop down menu will open, now click on ‘Report or block’ in the drop down menu.
Step 5: In the Report screen, go to Block [User’s name]
Now the Block [User’s name] option will appear in front of you, you have to click on the Block [User’s name]. LinkedIn will then ask you to confirm that you want to block the person.
Step 6: Confirm the block.
After selecting the Block option, you will see a pop-up asking you to confirm that you want to block the person. have to click on the Block.
That’s it. You have blocked the selected user from LinkedIn without their knowing.
How to unblock someone on LinkedIn
If you previously blocked someone on LinkedIn using the mobile app and you want to unblock them, you can do so by following these steps:
- Open the LinkedIn app on your mobile device and log in to your account.
- Click on your profile picture in the top left corner of the screen.
- Click on the Settings icon in the top right-hand corner of the screen.
- Next, scroll down and click on the Privacy tab.
- Click on the Blocking option, On the “Blocked” page, you will see a list of people you have previously blocked.
- Find the person you want to unblock from the list.
- Click on the Unblock button, Next to the person’s name, you’ll see a button labeled “Unblock.” Click this button to unblock the person.
- Confirm that you want to unblock the person, After clicking the Unblock button, LinkedIn will ask you to confirm that you want to unblock the person. Click the “Unblock” button again to confirm.
You have unblocked that person by following these simple Steps.
Note: Once you unblock someone on LinkedIn, you’ll need to re-send a connection request if you want to connect with them again.
In conclusion, blocking someone on LinkedIn is a simple easy process that can help you maintain a professional and secure online presence. and also, we have learned the method of unblocking in this post that how you can unblock the blocked person from back.
Can I block someone on LinkedIn without them knowing?
Yes, you can block someone on LinkedIn without them knowing.
Will the person I blocked be able to see my activity on LinkedIn?
No, once you block someone on LinkedIn, they won’t be able to see any of your Activity..
if you block someone on Linkedin, will messages be deleted
No, blocking someone on LinkedIn will not delete any previous messages or conversations between you and that person.
No, blocking someone on LinkedIn will prevent them from seeing your profile or any of your activity on the platform.